Category Archives: IPL Auction 2018

IPL Auction 2018: Player Auction Date, Venue, Time, Telecast


The mega auction of the Indian Premier League’s 11th edition will be held in Bengaluru on January 27 and 28.

The news was confirmed by a senior BCCI official.

“Since most of the capped players will be back in auction, it will be a mega auction that will be held in Bengaluru on January 27 and 28. Since Bengaluru has been hosting all previous auctions, that was the choice of franchises,” a senior BCCI official said on Tuesday.

IPL auction 2018 date: 27 and 28 January 2018 (Saturday and Sunday)

IPL auction 2018 venue: Ritz-Carlton, Bengaluru

IPL auction 2018 time: 9 AM IST

IPL auction 2018 telecast: Star Network and Hotstar


IPL Auction 2018 : Harbhajan Singh has a message for all franchise owners


The Indian Premier League auction is all set to take place on January 27 and January 28 in Bengaluru and the many players are awaiting their fate on which team they will end up at.

Former Indian offspinner Harbhajan Singh, who has not been retained by Mumbai Indians this time around seems to be eagerly awaiting for the auction as he posted a photo with the Indian Premier League trophy on the social media site Twitter.

Bhajji captioned it with: “First one to lay the hands on the IPL trophy this year.. an incentive of getting me in the team, you get the trophy with me ! Lol 😝! #IPLAuction #StarSports #re.imagine”

With this tweet, Harbhajan made it clear to all the eight franchises that he is all set for the eleventh edition of the tournament. Harbhajan has set himself top base price of INR 2 crore. Likes of Gautam Gambhir, Yuvraj Singh are also in the same bracket.

13 Indian and 23 overseas players have set their base prices at INR 2 crore among 1122 players which are all set to go under the hammer. BCCI in a media release stated, “The list that has been sent out to the eight IPL franchises has 281 capped players, 838 uncapped players, including 778 Indians and three players from the associate nations.”

IPL 2018: Players Mumbai Indians could retain using RTM

When the retentions for the latest season of the IPL were announced, the Mumbai Indians retained three key players, skipper Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya, and Jasprit Bumrah. There was speculation that Krunal Pandya may be retained in place of Jasprit Bumrah, but Mumbai followed through with the expected plan and retained their ace bowler.

Retaining three players allows them to use two RTM cards in the auction and with players such as Krunal Pandya, Jos Buttler, Kieron Pollard, Lasith Malinga and Lendl Simmons in the pool, Mumbai Indians will look to bring both the cards into play.