63 Presidential Awards for IAF this Year : Republic Day Eve 2013

63 IAF Air Warriors have been decorated with Presidential Awards on the eve of Republic Day, this year. This includes Param Vishist Seva Medal (PVSM) for six Air Marshals, Ati Vishist Seva Medal (AVSM) for one Air Marshal, five Air Vice Marshal and six Air Commodores.

PVSM has been conferred on Air Marshal Anil Chopra (Retd), Air Marshal Simha Kutty Varthaman (Retd), Air Marshal Satish Pal Singh (Retd), Air Marshal Arup Raha, Air Officer Commanding-in-Chief Western Air Command, Air Marshal Rajinder Singh, Air Officer Commanding-in-Chief Training Command, Air Marshal Jagdish Chandra Air Officer Commanding-in-Chief, Maintenance Command respectively.

Air Marshal Herikudru Babu Rajaram, Director General (Works and Ceremonials) has been conferred the Ati Vishist Seva Medal (AVSM).

This year, the Vayu Sena Medal (VM) for Gallantry have been awarded to Wing Commander Gurkirat Singh Sohal, Wing Commander Chickmandya Girish Deepak and Flight Lieutenant Siddharth Chopra. While two Air Commodores, seven Group Captains, five Wing Commanders have also been conferred Vayu Sena Medal for devotion to duty.

The Vishist Seva Medal (VSM) have been awarded to five Air Commodores, twenty Group Captains and three Wing Commanders.

Source – Press Information Bureau Release